Navagraha Gods in Hindu Religion

Navagrahas refer to the 9 Planetary Gods in Hindu Religion. Hindus worship these 9 Planets as Gods. It is believed that these celestial bodies in the cosmos influence every aspect of human lives and is responsible for all the good or bad times one faces in life.

These 9 planets are the Sun, Moon, Mars, Mercury, Jupiter, Venus, Saturn, Rahu and Ketu. In reality, out of these nine Sun, Moon, Rahu and Ketu are not planets. According to Hindu Astrology an ill placement of any of these planets in ones horoscope can cause diseases or other negative effects in that person’s life.

The Navagrahas needs to be propitiated in order to have a good life. Each of these Planetary Gods, except Rahu and Ketu, rules one day each of the week and also have Gemstones representing them. The details of the 9 Planetary Gods in Hindu Religion are given below.  



The Sun is considered as a royal Planet and giver of life. The day of Sun is Sunday and gemstone is Ruby. The ill placement of Sun in Horoscope can cause mental tension, headaches, mental tension, fevers, body ache, problems of the heart, blood pressure etc. Surya Namaskar is a good practice for attaining a healthy life.


The Moon is the Planet representing the mind, feminine nature, beauty and happiness. The mental stability and wellbeing of an individual to a larger extent depends on the placement of moon in horoscope. The day of the Moon is Monday and gemstone is Pearl. An ill placement of the Moon can cause diseases like urinary infections, colitis, bronchitis, abdominal problems etc.




Mars is often referred to as a ‘hot planet’ and protector of Dharma. Mars controls the muscular system of the body and also rules over nose, forehead and circulatory systems. The day of Mars is Tuesday and gemstone is Coral. An ill placement of Mars can cause accidents, blood clots, and inflammation of the lungs, typhoid and other blood disorders.


Mercury is representation of ones intelligence and communication. This Planet governs the nervous system. The day of Mercury is Wednesday and gemstone is Emerald. An ill placement of Mercury can cause stammering, bronchitis, asthma, paralysis, nervous disorders, brain fever, nasal disorders etc.

NG Bhudhudu

NG Guruvu


Jupiter symbolizes knowledge, love and spirituality. The day of Jupiter is Thursday and the Gemstone is yellow sapphire. This planet rules the thighs, flesh, kidney, liver, fat and arterial system. An ill placement of Jupiter can cause diabetics, piles, tumors, liver malfunction, blood cancer, gout etc.


Venus symbolizes love and passion. The day of Venus is Friday and gemstone is Diamond. An ill placement of Venus can cause eye diseases, indigestion, skin rashes, pimples, impotency, venereal diseases etc.

NG Sukra



Saturn is often referred to as a ‘dark planet’ and symbolizes longevity, misery, grief and old age. The day of Saturn is Saturday and the gemstone is Blue Sapphire. An ill placement of Saturn can cause asthma, gout, arthritis, rheumatism, impotency, TB etc.


Ketu is a malefic Planet and do not have any specific day dedicated to him. According to Hindu mythology, Ketu is generally referred to as a "shadow" planet and descending lunar node. According to Vedic astrology Ketu is the representation of karmic collections both good and bad, spirituality and supernatural influences. The Gemstone of Ketu is Cats Eye.

 NG Ketu



Rahu is a malefic Planet and do not have any special day dedicated to him. According to Hindu Mythology Rahu swallows the Sun or the Moon causing eclipses. When the Rahu is afflicted one faces several miseries and obstacles in the way of success. The gemstone of Rahu is Gomedh.



Upcoming Events

Temple Timings

Monday to Friday

  • 7:00 AM to 1:00 PM
  • 5:00 PM to 9:00 PM

Saturday, Sunday & Public Holiday

  • 7:00 AM to 9:00 PM

Aarti Timings

  • 7:00 AM - Kakad Aarti
  • 7:30 AM - Abhishek for BABA, Lord Shiva and Navagrahas followed by Aarti for all deities
  • 12:00 Noon -Madhyana Aarti
  • 5:45 PM - Aarti for all deities
  • 6:00 PM - Dhoop Aarti
  • 8:30 PM - Shej Aarti

Donate Now!

Thank you for your donation.